Warning: mysqli_query() expects at least 2 parameters, 1 given in /homepages/17/d85162748/htdocs/dmc/index2.php on line 54

Warning: mysqli_num_rows() expects parameter 1 to be mysqli_result, null given in /homepages/17/d85162748/htdocs/dmc/index2.php on line 55
DMCRacePromotions.com - Christie's Outside Charge To Tullyroan Victory background image
Like Us On FacebookFollow Us On TwitterSubscribe to Our FeedSubscribe to Our Mailing List
TullyroanOval AghadoweyOval


Welcome To DMCRacePromotions.com
We are Northern Ireland's premier Short Oval Motor Racing promotion, bringing you the very best in Stock Car, Hot Rod and Banger racing since 2003. We promote top flight race meetings at both Tullyroan Oval near Dungannon and Aghadowey Oval near Coleraine. From the high speed, high octane National Hot Rods, to the thrill a minute wreck 'em racing of the National Bangers, DMC Race Promotions have something for everyone, from the serious motorsport enthusiast to the family looking for a day out with a difference.

Coming Fixtures
Aghadowey Oval
9/7/2022 @ 6.30pm

Rookie Bangers 2022 Ulster Championship
Thunder Rods 2022 King of Aghadowey

2.0 Hot Rods
Stock Rods

Tullyroan Oval
22/7/2022 @ 6pm - 9.30pm

Practice Evening
All formulas welcome

Tullyroan Oval
23/7/2022 @ 4pm

Stock Rods 2022 World Championship
Ninja Karts 2022 World Championship Qualifying
Lightning Rods 2022 British Championship
Superstox 2022 Tullyroan Challenge Cup
1300 Stock Cars 2022 Irish Masters



Christie's Outside Charge To Tullyroan Victory
Crowd favourite John Christie took a very popular victory in the National Hot Rods Final at Tullyroan Oval on Saturday night, the Ballinderry driver producing a masterclass on the outside line to claim the spoils. On a lovely spring night of superb racing, the 2.0 Hot Rods feature race fell to Antrim’s Conor Hughes, whilst Randalstown’s Sam Percy won the Junior Productions Golden Helmet Award. Annalong’s Martin O’Flaherty took the win in the Lightning Rods division whilst it was Co Meath’s Anthony Morgan who claimed the win in the Classic Hot Rods.

An excellent eighteen cars took the first green flag of the night as the National Hot Rods contested Round 11 of Simpson Race Exhausts World Series NI. Gareth Bevan was the first to show in the opening heat, but he soon lost out to Simon Kennedy who took the win ahead of Keith Martin and Nigel McCauley. Heat two saw McCauley this time take the chequered flag, finishing well clear of Derek Martin and Adam Hylands.
The final was the race of the night, with McCauley settling into the lead early on, but having any advantage he had wiped out by an early caution period for a turn four incident. At the resumption he was made to fight long and hard against the advances of Carl Sloan, as the Kells man spent lap after lap on the outside line but just couldn’t make the move stick. By now John Christie and Derek Martin were playing a watching brief right behind, and when offered the chance Christie quickly hit the outside and hauled his Lotus past McCauley for the lead. John came home to a tremendously popular win ahead of Derek Martin, McCauley and Adam Maxwell.

An excellent field of 2.0 Hot Rods produced their best meeting of the season so far, with close, competitive racing all evening. Having won the final at Aghadowey Oval on Bank Holiday Monday, Londonderry’s Dean McFarland continued his good form with a clear opening heat win over Michael Woods and Ryan McCrory. Broughshane’s David Kernohan broke free in the second heat to record the victory, with Denver Grattan putting a great outside line pass on McFarland to grab second place.
The final saw McFarland set the early pace and even open a gap to the pack, but McCrory and British Champion Conor Hughes were quickly onto his tail. McCrory made his move into turn three to take the lead and race on to the chequered flag. The Stewards however weren’t happy with his pass for the lead, and he subsequently attracted a two place penalty after an investigation. That handed victory to Hughes ahead of Grattan and the demoted McCrory.

The young stars in the Junior Productions were racing for the Golden Helmet Award, and the superb trophy presented annually by the McKeown family. Returnee Aaron Ward led the way in the opening heat before a fantastic outside line pass from Sam Percy late in the race grabbed him the win. Heat two saw Irish Champion Matthew Weir race clear for a decisive win, coming home ahead of Stewart Hanna and Percy.
On aggregate points it was the impressive Percy who gained pole position for the Golden Helmet final, and he made good his escape early on to build a comfortable lead. A great battle was raging for second between Hanna and Koddi Wright, with Ward and Daniel Stewart getting on terms too. As Percy ran out a very deserving winner after a fine drive, welcome Scottish visitor Wright impressed in second with Ward getting third in the final analysis after Hanna was docked two places to fifth for contact.

The Lightning Rods once again entertained with some great racing, with Mark McCambridge breaking clear to win the opening heat ahead of Dean Catherwood and James McKinney. Catherwood then went one better in heat two, taking the win in his pretty BMW over Martin O’Flaherty and McCambridge.
The final was right from the top drawer, with a huge four way battle for the lead at one stage between O’Flaherty, McCambridge, Catherwood and British Champion Ricky Shaw. O’Flaherty was able to break clear at just the right time to secure a deserved victory over Catherwood and Shaw.

A trio of races from the small entry of Classic Hot Rods saw Adrian McKinstry’s popular Morris Minor take both heat wins, before the rapid Anthony Morgan prevailed in the final ahead of McKinstry and Mark Monaghan.

Added: 08/05/22

Share on FacebookTweet This

  Site Map
- Latest | Fixtures | Results | Gallery | For Sale | Links | Our Partners
- About Us - How to Find Us | Places to Stay | Contact Us
- Drivers - Formulae & Rules - National Hot Rods | 2.0 Hot Rods | Lightning Rods | Junior Productions | National Bangers | Superstox
1300 Stock Cars | Thunder Rods | Ninja Karts | Stock Rods | Classic Hot Rods | Rookie Bangers| Back2Basics Bangers
- Drivers - Flags & Signals | Lap Records
- Drivers - Points & Grades - National Hot Rods | 2.0 Hot Rods | Lightning Rods | Junior Productions | National Bangers | Superstox
Ninja Karts | Stock Rods
- Drivers - Roll of Honour - 1300 Stock Cars | 2.0 Hot Rods | Classic Hot Rods | Junior Productions | Lightning Rods | National Bangers | National Hot Rods | Ninja Karts |ProStocks | Reliant Robins | Rookie Bangers | Stock Rods | Superstox | Thunder Rods