Warning: mysqli_query() expects at least 2 parameters, 1 given in /homepages/17/d85162748/htdocs/dmc/index2.php on line 54

Warning: mysqli_num_rows() expects parameter 1 to be mysqli_result, null given in /homepages/17/d85162748/htdocs/dmc/index2.php on line 55
DMCRacePromotions.com - Van-tastic Start to 2022 at Tullyroan Oval! background image
Like Us On FacebookFollow Us On TwitterSubscribe to Our FeedSubscribe to Our Mailing List
TullyroanOval AghadoweyOval


Welcome To DMCRacePromotions.com
We are Northern Ireland's premier Short Oval Motor Racing promotion, bringing you the very best in Stock Car, Hot Rod and Banger racing since 2003. We promote top flight race meetings at both Tullyroan Oval near Dungannon and Aghadowey Oval near Coleraine. From the high speed, high octane National Hot Rods, to the thrill a minute wreck 'em racing of the National Bangers, DMC Race Promotions have something for everyone, from the serious motorsport enthusiast to the family looking for a day out with a difference.

Coming Fixtures
Aghadowey Oval
9/7/2022 @ 6.30pm

Rookie Bangers 2022 Ulster Championship
Thunder Rods 2022 King of Aghadowey

2.0 Hot Rods
Stock Rods

Tullyroan Oval
22/7/2022 @ 6pm - 9.30pm

Practice Evening
All formulas welcome

Tullyroan Oval
23/7/2022 @ 4pm

Stock Rods 2022 World Championship
Ninja Karts 2022 World Championship Qualifying
Lightning Rods 2022 British Championship
Superstox 2022 Tullyroan Challenge Cup
1300 Stock Cars 2022 Irish Masters



Van-tastic Start to 2022 at Tullyroan Oval!
A fantastic afternoon of racing at Tullyroan Oval on Sunday heralded the start of 2022 in style. Young Londonderry star David Gurney came out on top of the headlining Big Van Bangers as he took the aptly named ‘Van-dalism 2022’ title. An action packed Rookie Bangers New Year Challenge fell to Garvagh’s Stephen Boyd, whilst the other feature race winners of the afternoon were Portadown’s World Champion Nigel Jackson in the Lightning Rods, Cloughmills driver Sean Mark in the Superstox and up and coming Dungannon driver Aaron Dynes in the Junior Productions.

As always at the New Year meeting, the Big Van Bangers topped the programme. The Van-dalism 2022 race was first up and saw an entertaining encounter, as Stevo McGrath did his best to block the track and take out as many others as he could! David Gurney survived all the attempts to remove him, taking the win in style over Brian Mullen in his huge bus and Rodney Herron.
McGrath and Tony Gillespie did their best to destroy each other in an action-packed Allcomers race, with McGrath taking the chequered flag as Gillespie’s van all but disintegrated! Tony somehow returned it for the Destruction Derby, but he was beaten into submission by Simon Lamont who took a fine win. Gillespie was quite rightly awarded the Best Wreck and Entertainer of the Day awards.

A huge field of Rookie Bangers produced some spectacular action with almost 40 cars on track for the opening heat. Dublin star Deano McGrath raced to the heat one victory over Gavin Gamble, before Gamble then took a fine win in heat two over Ryan Nixon and Matthew Nicholl in another action packed encounter.
The final was a superb race, with John Goligher and Stephen Boyd disputing the lead entering the final stages. Goligher went ahead at what looked like the perfect time with a lap to go, but Boyd came steaming back into the final bend, punting Goligher wide and into two parked cars. Boyd took a sensational last gasp win, with Goligher managing to get home in second ahead of William McFaul.

Formula debuts for brothers Ryan and Jordan Dilly plus a welcome visit from Kieran Burke bolstered the Lightning Rods field on a very slippery raceway, with every race of the day only decided on the very last lap! Mark McCambridge led most of heat one before losing out to James McKinney right at the death, and then Nigel Jackson just pipped Ally Neill to the flag in a drag race out of the last bend to take the heat two spoils.
In the final it was Ethan Dilly who led the way for much of the distance, but once Jackson broke free from the pack he began closing in at quite some rate. He arrived on Dilly’s bumper with a lap to go, and found a run up the inside to out drag Ethan to the line to grab the victory by the smallest of margins – 0.025 seconds.

Amongst the Superstox grid were debuts for Nathan Clarke and Saloon Stock Car star Ryan Wright, as former World Champion Lee Davison proved to be the man to beat on the treacherous surface. Lee swooped past long time leader Sean Mark to take the opening heat win with Kyle Beattie in third, before repeating the feat in heat two. Jordan Robinson was runner up this time ahead of David Beattie.
Disaster struck for Davison in the final as he hit mechanical problems early on and his hat-trick hopes were dashed. Mark made a fine start from the yellow grade once again, and this time Sean wouldn’t be caught as the Cloughmills man took the flag and the silverware to mark his return to form in some style. Robinson and Craig McConnell filled the podium places ahead of Steven Haugh, Brian Lammey and Nathan Beattie.

Welcome Scottish visitors Liam Loggie and Jack MacLeod joined the Junior Production regulars for the day, with the field also boosted by debutant Jake Devlin. It took three attempts to get the opening heat underway as the youngsters struggled on the greasy track, and once they did get going they produced a cracking race! Aaron Dynes led early on before the chasing pack of star names caught up towards the end. Jack Morrow went ahead before he tangled with Chelsy Rainey, which opened the door for Loggie to take a superb victory. Rainey and Dynes filled the places ahead of a demoted Morrow.
Morrow made no mistake in heat two, taking a great win ahead of Dynes and Declan O’Connor. The final saw Dynes make an early break for the front, and despite the best efforts of the chasing Morrow and O’Connor, Aaron held on to record a very popular win, the first feature race victory of his career.

Added: 03/01/22

Share on FacebookTweet This

  Site Map
- Latest | Fixtures | Results | Gallery | For Sale | Links | Our Partners
- About Us - How to Find Us | Places to Stay | Contact Us
- Drivers - Formulae & Rules - National Hot Rods | 2.0 Hot Rods | Lightning Rods | Junior Productions | National Bangers | Superstox
1300 Stock Cars | Thunder Rods | Ninja Karts | Stock Rods | Classic Hot Rods | Rookie Bangers| Back2Basics Bangers
- Drivers - Flags & Signals | Lap Records
- Drivers - Points & Grades - National Hot Rods | 2.0 Hot Rods | Lightning Rods | Junior Productions | National Bangers | Superstox
Ninja Karts | Stock Rods
- Drivers - Roll of Honour - 1300 Stock Cars | 2.0 Hot Rods | Classic Hot Rods | Junior Productions | Lightning Rods | National Bangers | National Hot Rods | Ninja Karts |ProStocks | Reliant Robins | Rookie Bangers | Stock Rods | Superstox | Thunder Rods