Warning: mysqli_query() expects at least 2 parameters, 1 given in /homepages/17/d85162748/htdocs/dmc/index2.php on line 54

Warning: mysqli_num_rows() expects parameter 1 to be mysqli_result, null given in /homepages/17/d85162748/htdocs/dmc/index2.php on line 55
DMCRacePromotions.com - McKee Masters Conditions To Win Richard Turtle Memorial background image
Like Us On FacebookFollow Us On TwitterSubscribe to Our FeedSubscribe to Our Mailing List
TullyroanOval AghadoweyOval


Welcome To DMCRacePromotions.com
We are Northern Ireland's premier Short Oval Motor Racing promotion, bringing you the very best in Stock Car, Hot Rod and Banger racing since 2003. We promote top flight race meetings at both Tullyroan Oval near Dungannon and Aghadowey Oval near Coleraine. From the high speed, high octane National Hot Rods, to the thrill a minute wreck 'em racing of the National Bangers, DMC Race Promotions have something for everyone, from the serious motorsport enthusiast to the family looking for a day out with a difference.

Coming Fixtures
Aghadowey Oval
9/7/2022 @ 6.30pm

Rookie Bangers 2022 Ulster Championship
Thunder Rods 2022 King of Aghadowey

2.0 Hot Rods
Stock Rods

Tullyroan Oval
22/7/2022 @ 6pm - 9.30pm

Practice Evening
All formulas welcome

Tullyroan Oval
23/7/2022 @ 4pm

Stock Rods 2022 World Championship
Ninja Karts 2022 World Championship Qualifying
Lightning Rods 2022 British Championship
Superstox 2022 Tullyroan Challenge Cup
1300 Stock Cars 2022 Irish Masters



McKee Masters Conditions To Win Richard Turtle Memorial
Templepatrick’s Ben McKee produced an excellent drive in difficult conditions to claim the Richard Turtle Memorial Cup for the National Hot Rods at an excellent festive Aghadowey Oval meeting last Monday afternoon.

With a descending fog and a greasy track making the going very tricky, Ben showed the field a clean pair of heels to run out a clear winner. Other feature race winners were Ballymena’s Daniel Rodgers in the Thunder Rods, rising Cullybackey star Keegan Turtle in the Ninja Karts, Glenavy’s Dan Shannon in the Stock Rods and Bleary’s Drew McKeown in the 2.0 Hot Rods. The entertaining Caravan Destruction Derby fell to Strabane's Tony Gillespie.

A great field of sixteen National Hot Rods gathered to contest Round 6 of Simpson Race Exhausts World Series NI and the Richard Turtle Memorial Cup. It is held each year in memory of the popular former star driver from Cullybackey. Amongst the grid was welcome Dublin visitor Les Compelli. Barry Stephen was the man to watch during the heats, the Scotsman grabbing the opener over Carl Sloan and John Christie before heading Shane Murray and Nigel McCauley home in heat two.
The final saw Stephen take the early lead until he was challenged by Ben McKee as they approached mid distance. After a tussle McKee went ahead, and pulled well clear as he revelled in the slippery conditions. A huge battle ensued for second, which finally fell the way of National Champion Derek Martin after a great outside run, with Stephen third ahead of Christie and Murray. Such was McKee’s lead that he was right amongst this battle to lap them as the chequered flag fell.

As always, the Stock Rods were on top form with the opening heat featuring a superb multi-car dice for the lead. Thomas Morrison held sway out front with Stevie McNiece, Victor McAfee, Mark Crawford and Jonny Cardwell just some of those attempting to get past. McNiece made the outside move stick with just three to go to claim a great win over Morrison and Crawford. Heat two saw McAfee set the pace for much of the way, before Cardwell found a gap on the last lap to claim the win over Victor and Stevie McNiece.
The final again saw a titanic battle out front, with Morrison holding sway before he went out with a puncture. That elevated McNiece to the lead but he then lost out to Crawford on the Brown Trout Bend. In the final analysis, Crawford was demoted by the Stewards for the manner in which he took the lead. That handed victory to second over the line Dan Shannon, ahead of Cardwell, the relegated Crawford and the very unlucky McNiece.

Three eventful races from the 2.0 Hot Rods entertained the crowds, with Garvagh’s Johnny McCloy breaking clear to win heat one over British Champion Conor Hughes and Irish Champion Jordan Rochford. Gary Fowler led heat two early on, before NI Points Champion Drew McKeown raced ahead to win over McCloy and Rochford.
The final saw a great battle between McCloy and McKeown for the lead, before they were joined by Hughes to make it a three way scrap. Hughes almost got past McCloy, but as they were side by side they ran wide which a driver of McKeown’s calibre was always going to seize upon. He nipped inside them both and ahead to take the silverware over Rochford and McCloy.

A full field of twenty Thunder Rods took to the grid, with returnee David Reynolds from Clough taking a tough fought heat one win over Daniel Rodgers and Ryan Murphy. An eventful second heat fell to Ricky Bradley over Murphy and Rodgers, and heading into the feature race final it was a tough call as to who would take the honours. On his comeback meeting, it was Ballymena driver Rodgers who was the man on a mission, as he relegated early leader Clifford Gordon to take a decisive win. Murphy and Gordon completed the placemen.

The Ninja Karts field was bolstered by England’s Jack Jones and Scottish racers Kenzie Bell and Tommy Melrose. The racing was fantastic all afternoon from the 6-11 year olds, with Crumlin’s Riley Dawson-Stirling taking the opening heat over World Champion Leyton Hughes and Keegan Turtle. Heat two saw Riley take his second win of the day, coming through late to snatch the victory with Hughes and Turtle again the placemen.
The final was a contender for race of the day, with Caolan Fegan setting a blistering pace out front with Charlie Johnston and Turtle chasing hard. The star men were struggling to get on terms from the rear of the grid, leaving the leading trio to fight it out between them. Just as he looked to have the trophy in the bag, Fegan hesitated ever so slightly in the backmarking traffic allowing the others to close on the run to the line. It was a real blanket finish with Turtle getting the nod and the winner’s trophy by just 0.042 seconds! Fegan had to make do with second ahead of Johnston and Hughes.

The exciting Caravan Destruction Derby completed the holiday programme, with the drivers driving through and over each other to absolutely destroy the caravans. The entertaining event was won by Tony Gillespie from Strabane with Ballymoney’s Ian Bolton starring with a big rollover to end his chances.

Added: 28/12/21

Share on FacebookTweet This

  Site Map
- Latest | Fixtures | Results | Gallery | For Sale | Links | Our Partners
- About Us - How to Find Us | Places to Stay | Contact Us
- Drivers - Formulae & Rules - National Hot Rods | 2.0 Hot Rods | Lightning Rods | Junior Productions | National Bangers | Superstox
1300 Stock Cars | Thunder Rods | Ninja Karts | Stock Rods | Classic Hot Rods | Rookie Bangers| Back2Basics Bangers
- Drivers - Flags & Signals | Lap Records
- Drivers - Points & Grades - National Hot Rods | 2.0 Hot Rods | Lightning Rods | Junior Productions | National Bangers | Superstox
Ninja Karts | Stock Rods
- Drivers - Roll of Honour - 1300 Stock Cars | 2.0 Hot Rods | Classic Hot Rods | Junior Productions | Lightning Rods | National Bangers | National Hot Rods | Ninja Karts |ProStocks | Reliant Robins | Rookie Bangers | Stock Rods | Superstox | Thunder Rods