background image
Like Us On FacebookFollow Us On TwitterSubscribe to Our FeedSubscribe to Our Mailing List
TullyroanOval AghadoweyOval


Welcome To
We are Northern Ireland's premier Short Oval Motor Racing promotion, bringing you the very best in Stock Car, Hot Rod and Banger racing since 2003. We promote top flight race meetings at both Tullyroan Oval near Dungannon and Aghadowey Oval near Coleraine. From the high speed, high octane National Hot Rods, to the thrill a minute wreck 'em racing of the National Bangers, DMC Race Promotions have something for everyone, from the serious motorsport enthusiast to the family looking for a day out with a difference.

Coming Fixtures
Aghadowey Oval
4/6/2023 @ 1pm

Unlimited National Bangers Shamwreck 2023
(2023 DMC World Series Round 4)

& The James 'The Cat' Smith Memorial Destruction Derby
1600/Rookie Bangers 2023 Irish Open Championship
Thunder Rods

Tullyroan Oval
10/6/2023 @ 6.30pm

1300 Stock Cars 2023 Tullyroan Challenge Cup
Junior Productions 2023 Golden Helmet
Lightning Rods 2023 Tullyroan Challenge Cup

2.0 Hot Rods
Ninja Karts

Aghadowey Oval
17/6/2023 @ 6.30pm

Stock Rods 2023 William Cooke Memorial Trophy
Lightning Rods 2023 King of Aghadowey
Ninja Karts 2023 Golden Helmet

Thunder Rods



Weldon Makes His Mark As Rookie Bangers Star At Tullyroan
Some fantastic entertainment from a very healthy entry of cars was the order of the day at Tullyroan Oval on Saturday evening. From a near fifty car entry Crumlin’s Mark Weldon took a hard earned win in the Rookie Bangers final after a bruising event, whilst Portadown’s Steven Haugh came through to claim victory in the Superstox final.
The feature race for the Thunder Rods was the Tullyroan Challenge Cup which fell to Cullybackey’s David Wilson, whilst other final victories went to the impressive duo of Portadown’s Dylan McCann (Lightning Rods) and Randalstown teenager Sam Percy (Junior Productions).

To get the night off and running, the huge field of Rookie Bangers contested two heats, each featuring half the cars on the entry list. Dublin’s Paul O’Connor, a long time star man in the formula, took the opener from William McFaul and Jack Murray, before Limavady’s Josh Goligher powered through the carnage of heat two to take the chequered flag ahead of his father, John Goligher.
Heat three was for all available cars, with a huge grid of almost forty taking the green flag. Sam Stewart went for a huge roll into the Tullyroan Bend, as there was action all around the circuit. Leonard Dunn from Donemana came through the chaos to take the win over McFaul and Mark Weldon.
Some sterling work in the pits saw another great field return for the final, and it turned out to be a spectacular race. A big turn one crash brought out an early red flag, before Kevin Moran then went for a huge rollover in the same spot just a few laps later. Dunn surged ahead before he got turned aside, handing the lead to William Donnell. William unfortunately then tagged a parked car and picked up damage, allowing Weldon to move him wide to come through for a fantastic win at the end of a sensational night’s racing. Donnell limped home in second ahead of the recovering Dunn, with James Goodman and Dan Dooner next over the line.

Another fine field of Superstox saw Scottish ace Dean Johnston and Luke Wrench from England join the fray. Alan Haugh led the opener before British Champion Lee Davison moved ahead to claim the win over David Beattie. Beattie went one better in heat two, heading home Davison and Jordan Robinson for a well deserved win.
There was an early yellow flag in the final as Paddy Murphy took a big knock on turn one, and at the resumption of racing Steven Haugh moved ahead and pulled out a huge lead he would never relinquish. Steven took the flag to continue his rich vein of form with another win, with young Graham Meek excelling in second ahead of David Beattie and Kyle Beattie.

The Thunder Rods made their first trip of the season to Tullyroan Oval to contest the Tullyroan Challenge Cup, with the usual graded order start dispensed with in favour of the reversed grid qualifying system. Dean Catherwood pulled clear from the front of the opener to take the victory over Samuel Murphy and Norman Purdy, before the second heat fell to David Wilson over Irish Champion James Goldie and Adam Graham.
Wilson and Purdy annexed the front row of the grid for the final on aggregate points from the heats, and Wilson quickly took charge from pole position. The Cullybackey man comfortably kept the challengers at bay to race home to victory over Catherwood and Goldie, with Chris Baird catching the eye with a steady drive to fourth.

Like every other formula on the night, the Lightning Rods also gridded a full field of cars, with Portadown’s Dylan McCann taking the opening heat win ahead of Neil Capper and Dermot Tynan. Capper went one better in heat two to take a great win having just returned to the formula, with Mark McCambridge showing great pace to land second ahead of Martin O’Flaherty.
Peter Wehrly set the pace in the final early on before losing out to McCann, who really did look to have the bit between his teeth once again. Dylan quickly moved ahead, but with Capper and now O’Flaherty tracking his every move. The gap between the front runners ebbed and flowed for many laps, with Capper losing out just as it looked like he was about to mount a challenge for the lead. World Champion Nigel Jackson and the star men arrived on the scene too to set up a great finish, but McCann had enough in hand to take the win in some style to complete his double and earn an upgrading for the next meeting. Capper completed his great night in second, with O’Flaherty, Ricky Shaw and Jackson completing the top five.

With welcome Scottish visitor Declan Dixon on the grid, it was Ballymena’s Aaron Ward who showed great speed in the opening Junior Productions heat to take the win over Lexi Crooks and Sam Percy. Heat two followed a similar pattern, with Ward again passing early leader Andrew Woods to take the win over Woods and Crooks.
The final saw Ward upgraded back to the blue grade, allowing Woods to stretch clear out front from the off. Declan O’Connor stepped forward to challenge for the win, but then Percy arrived on the scene and effortlessly pulled himself right around the outside to take the lead and the win, in a drive that even his senior counterparts would have been proud of. O’Connor, Woods, Crooks and Chelsy Rainey rounded out the places.

Added: 27/06/21

Share on FacebookTweet This

  Site Map
- Latest | Fixtures | Results | Gallery | For Sale | Links | Our Partners
- About Us - How to Find Us | Places to Stay | Contact Us
- Drivers - Formulae & Rules - National Hot Rods | 2.0 Hot Rods | Lightning Rods | Junior Productions | National Bangers | Superstox
1300 Stock Cars | Thunder Rods | Ninja Karts | Stock Rods | Classic Hot Rods | Rookie Bangers| Back2Basics Bangers
- Drivers - Flags & Signals | Lap Records
- Drivers - Points & Grades - National Hot Rods | 2.0 Hot Rods | Lightning Rods | Junior Productions | National Bangers | Superstox
Ninja Karts | Stock Rods
- Drivers - Roll of Honour - 1300 Stock Cars | 2.0 Hot Rods | Classic Hot Rods | Junior Productions | Lightning Rods | National Bangers | National Hot Rods | Ninja Karts |ProStocks | Reliant Robins | Rookie Bangers | Stock Rods | Superstox | Thunder Rods