Warning: mysqli_query() expects at least 2 parameters, 1 given in /homepages/17/d85162748/htdocs/dmc/index2.php on line 54

Warning: mysqli_num_rows() expects parameter 1 to be mysqli_result, null given in /homepages/17/d85162748/htdocs/dmc/index2.php on line 55
DMCRacePromotions.com - Christie Back On Form To Win Richard Turtle Memorial Cup background image
Like Us On FacebookFollow Us On TwitterSubscribe to Our FeedSubscribe to Our Mailing List
TullyroanOval AghadoweyOval


Welcome To DMCRacePromotions.com
We are Northern Ireland's premier Short Oval Motor Racing promotion, bringing you the very best in Stock Car, Hot Rod and Banger racing since 2003. We promote top flight race meetings at both Tullyroan Oval near Dungannon and Aghadowey Oval near Coleraine. From the high speed, high octane National Hot Rods, to the thrill a minute wreck 'em racing of the National Bangers, DMC Race Promotions have something for everyone, from the serious motorsport enthusiast to the family looking for a day out with a difference.

Coming Fixtures
Aghadowey Oval
9/7/2022 @ 6.30pm

Rookie Bangers 2022 Ulster Championship
Thunder Rods 2022 King of Aghadowey

2.0 Hot Rods
Stock Rods

Tullyroan Oval
22/7/2022 @ 6pm - 9.30pm

Practice Evening
All formulas welcome

Tullyroan Oval
23/7/2022 @ 4pm

Stock Rods 2022 World Championship
Ninja Karts 2022 World Championship Qualifying
Lightning Rods 2022 British Championship
Superstox 2022 Tullyroan Challenge Cup
1300 Stock Cars 2022 Irish Masters



Christie Back On Form To Win Richard Turtle Memorial Cup
Former World Champion John Christie bounced right back to form at Aghadowey Oval on Saturday night to win the Richard Turtle Memorial Cup for the National Hot Rods. John held off spirited late advances from Shane Murray and Derek Martin to grab the spoils during an excellent evening’s racing.

Other winners at the McKinstry Metal Recycling sponsored event were local Aghadowey man Aaron Stewart in the Lightning Rods King of Aghadowey event, Scottish visitor Siobhan Martin in the Stock Rods, Crumlin’s Riley Dawson-Stirling in the Ninja Karts and Limavady’s John Goligher in the Back to Basics Bangers.

Glarryford’s Philip McCloy led the National Hot Rods away for heat one, but he lost out to a fast moving Nigel McCauley who went on to take the victory over John Christie and Derek Martin. Heat two saw the first wet race of the night, with McCloy holding sway out front until well into the second half of the encounter. Shane Murray found a way past to take the victory over Carl Sloan and Martin.
The final doubled up as Round 6 of Simpson Race Exhausts World Series NI and the Richard Turtle Memorial Cup, with McCloy again the leader from the off until Christie worked his way ahead. At the half way mark Martin and Murray joined Christie at the front, and from then on the fans were treated to an enthralling three-way battle for the win. Christie used all his experience though to take the victory, ahead of Murray, Martin and Sloan.

The opening Lightning Rods heat saw a flag to flag win for Portadown’s Mark Corry ahead of Aaron Stewart and World Champion Nigel Jackson. In the damp heat two, James McKinney showed best to take the flag ahead of Jackson and Ricky Shaw.
A frantic start to the King of Aghadowey final saw Stewart squeeze ahead on the opening lap, and he put in a wonderful performance to take the victory in the wet conditions he rarely excels in. McKinney took second ahead of Jackson and Jordan Rochford at the flag.

A huge field of 27 Stock Rods arrived in the pits, including welcome Scottish lady racer Siobhan Martin. Recent returnee William Taggart led the way for much of heat one, before he lost out to a hard charging Adam McFall in the closing stages. McFall took the win over Marc Morrell and Taggart, after third on the road Dan Shannon was docked for contact. Heat two saw Ryan Andersen impress early on out front, before Broughshane’s Adam Weir moved past to take up the running. As Adam cruised to an excellent win, Micky McFall and Shane McMillan grabbed second and third ahead of visitor Martin.
The final saw an early battle for the lead between Morrell and Shane McMillan, with never any more than a hair’s breadth between them. Martin worked her way up to third, and when the lead duo tripped over each other into the Brown Trout Bend Siobhan duly accepted the gift of the lead. Proceedings got rather messy in the closing stages with a number of penalties handed out, but Martin took a well deserved final win over Stevie McNiece, Shannon and Shane McMillan in the final analysis.

Some great racing was served up yet again by the young 6-11 year olds in the Ninja Karts, with Noah Teggart unlucky to lose out on the heat one win as he collided with a spun kart within sight of the line on the last lap. That opened the door for Scottish visitor Dougie Kidd to take the win over Irish Champion Leyton Hughes and Caolan Fegan. Heat two saw Hughes get the win after leader Charlie Johnston hit trouble whilst ahead, with Leyton leading home Andrew Hawe and Fegan.
Fegan led the final early on until he lost out to the fast charging trio of Riley Dawson-Stirling, Hughes and Kidd. The three circulated as one for the final laps, with Dawson-Stirling ahead when it mattered most to take his first ever feature race win over Hughes, Kidd and Fegan. Fegan also received the top white or yellow grade award presented by track marshal Ian McClelland.

A good field of the entry level Back to Basics Bangers saw some great fun and frolics throughout the evening. Josh Goligher took the opening heat ahead of Paddy Hannigan, before his father John Goligher took the second heat over Josh and William Donnell. The final saw another win for John Goligher over Simon Lamont and Hannigan, with the end of meeting Destruction Derby falling to Matthew McKinstry.

Many thanks to our meeting sponsors, MMR McKinstry Metal Recycling

Added: 11/10/20

Share on FacebookTweet This

  Site Map
- Latest | Fixtures | Results | Gallery | For Sale | Links | Our Partners
- About Us - How to Find Us | Places to Stay | Contact Us
- Drivers - Formulae & Rules - National Hot Rods | 2.0 Hot Rods | Lightning Rods | Junior Productions | National Bangers | Superstox
1300 Stock Cars | Thunder Rods | Ninja Karts | Stock Rods | Classic Hot Rods | Rookie Bangers| Back2Basics Bangers
- Drivers - Flags & Signals | Lap Records
- Drivers - Points & Grades - National Hot Rods | 2.0 Hot Rods | Lightning Rods | Junior Productions | National Bangers | Superstox
Ninja Karts | Stock Rods
- Drivers - Roll of Honour - 1300 Stock Cars | 2.0 Hot Rods | Classic Hot Rods | Junior Productions | Lightning Rods | National Bangers | National Hot Rods | Ninja Karts |ProStocks | Reliant Robins | Rookie Bangers | Stock Rods | Superstox | Thunder Rods