background image
Like Us On FacebookFollow Us On TwitterSubscribe to Our FeedSubscribe to Our Mailing List
TullyroanOval AghadoweyOval


Welcome To
We are Northern Ireland's premier Short Oval Motor Racing promotion, bringing you the very best in Stock Car, Hot Rod and Banger racing since 2003. We promote top flight race meetings at both Tullyroan Oval near Dungannon and Aghadowey Oval near Coleraine. From the high speed, high octane National Hot Rods, to the thrill a minute wreck 'em racing of the National Bangers, DMC Race Promotions have something for everyone, from the serious motorsport enthusiast to the family looking for a day out with a difference.

Coming Fixtures
Tullyroan Oval
22/6/2024 @ 6.30pm

2L National Bangers 2024 Tullyroan Challenge Cup
Superstox The Neil Davison Memorial Cup 2024
Junior Productions 2024 Tullyroan Challenge Cup

2.0 Hot Rods
Lightning Rods
Classic Hot Rods

Tullyroan Oval
29/6/2024 @ 6pm-9.30pm

Practice & Test Evening

Aghadowey Oval
19/7/2024 @ 6pm-9pm

Practice & Test Night



McQuillan and Emerson Crowned Kings of Aghadowey
After an excellent evening of race action at Aghadowey Oval, Antrim’s Stephen Emerson and Belfast’s Jon McQuillan were both crowned King of Aghadowey after splendid displays in the 2.0 Hot Rods and 1300 Stock Cars respectively.
Other feature race winners in the Trophies NI of Ballymena sponsored event were Glarryford’s Johny Gillespie in the Stock Rods, Portadown’s World Champion Nigel Jackson in the Lightning Rods and another Portadown racer, Sam Preston, in the Thunder Rods.

Another excellent entry of 2.0 Hot Rods took to the grid for the King of Aghadowey, especially pleasing after the huge crash only a week previous at Tullyroan which damaged a number of cars. Dean McFarland led the opener away but was soon relegated by a great outside line pass from former British Champion Stuart Cochrane. Cochrane went on to take the win over Irish Champ Adam Best and Stephen Emerson. The reverse grid heat two saw Banbridge driver Denver Grattan take a pleasing win, over Emerson and Jordan Rochford.
Emerson and Best shared the front row for the King of Aghadowey decider, and as Best struggled from his outside berth start, Emerson pulled clear out front. Cochrane stepped forward to challenge for the lead, but Emerson had all under control to successfully defend his title. Cochrane, Rochford and Drew McKeown were next home.

The action packed 1300 Stock Cars were also contesting their King of Aghadowey title, with two recent graduates from the junior ranks, Gareth Halliday and Jonathan Brown, claiming a heat victory apiece. Robbie Wright and Brown followed Halliday home in the opener, before Wright and Fionn Donnelly were the placemen to sixteen year old Brown in heat two.
The bumpers had been put to good use in the heats, but the final was truly remarkable race! Early on Wright was turned aside and his huge threat was gone, as Brown, Josh McKinstry and Jon McQuillan contested the lead. Lap after lap they traded blows, and the lead, in true stock car style, with McQuillan just getting the nod on the line to claim the King of Aghadowey crown. Brown was excellent value in second, with McKinstry left to make do with third having played a leading part in proceedings throughout.

The well subscribed Stock Rods division were action packed as always, with so little between a huge number of cars. Larne’s Samuel Wilson eventually claimed the heat one victory after a lengthy Stewards Enquiry which went on for some time, and that only after first across the line Rick Purdy was docked for contact during the race. Wilson inherited the win over Stevie McNiece and Purdy, before Samuel Montgomery claimed the heat two win after holding off Johny Gillespie all the way home.
Gillespie had annexed pole position for the final, and he quickly assumed a lead that would be under constant threat for the duration of the Trophies NI sponsored event. Johny held off the advances of firstly former World title holder Stevie McNiece, and then the current gold roof holder Derek McMillan. Try as they might, they just couldn’t pierce Gillespie’s stubborn resistance and it was Johny who took a well deserved feature race victory. Jonny Cardwell and Adam McFall filled out the podium places after McMillan was demoted to fourth for contact.

Dermot Tynan led away a busy field of Lightning Rods in their opening heat, and he held on for much of the distance before losing out late on to an excellent outside line challenge from James McKinney. Stuart Agnew and Nigel Jackson filled the places, before Agnew went on the claim the chequered flag in heat two ahead of Mark McCambridge and McKinney.
Tynan led the final until McCambridge found a way past, but he was soon hunted down by McKinney, Jackson and Agnew. Just as Jackson went for the outside pass, there was contact amongst the dice which saw both he and McCambridge lose out. McKinney raced ahead to take the flag, but after a lengthy inquest in Race Control he was unfortunately demoted to third for his part in the race changing incident. Jackson thus inherited the victory, ahead of Agnew and McKinney.

A huge field of Thunder Rods completed the programme, with Garvagh novice Dean Catherwood racing to a polished win in heat one over Simon McLaughlin and Simon Lamont. The star names again failed to make much impact in the second heat, with Ryan Nixon from Donemana taking the second novice grade win of the evening having fended off a late onslaught from Lamont and Sam Preston.
Preston was the first to show in the feature race, with the pressure mounting on his lead during a mid race caution period which brought the pack onto his tail. Portadown man Sam quickly got into his stride once again as they returned to racing, holding on out front to make in three wins out of three for the novices! Behind deserved winner Preston, Nixon, Adam Graham, Lamont and McLaughlin completed the top places.

Many thanks to our meeting sponsors,

Added: 06/09/20

Share on FacebookTweet This

  Site Map
- Latest | Fixtures | Results | Gallery | For Sale | Links | Our Partners
- About Us - How to Find Us | Places to Stay | Contact Us
- Drivers - Formulae & Rules - National Hot Rods | 2.0 Hot Rods | Lightning Rods | Junior Productions | National Bangers | Superstox
1300 Stock Cars | Thunder Rods | Ninja Karts | Stock Rods | Classic Hot Rods | Rookie Bangers| Back2Basics Bangers
- Drivers - Flags & Signals | Lap Records
- Drivers - Points & Grades - National Hot Rods | 2.0 Hot Rods | Lightning Rods | Junior Productions | National Bangers | Superstox
Ninja Karts | Stock Rods
- Drivers - Roll of Honour - 1300 Stock Cars | 2.0 Hot Rods | Classic Hot Rods | Junior Productions | Lightning Rods | National Bangers | National Hot Rods | Ninja Karts |ProStocks | Reliant Robins | Rookie Bangers | Stock Rods | Superstox | Thunder Rods