background image
Like Us On FacebookFollow Us On TwitterSubscribe to Our FeedSubscribe to Our Mailing List
TullyroanOval AghadoweyOval


Welcome To
We are Northern Ireland's premier Short Oval Motor Racing promotion, bringing you the very best in Stock Car, Hot Rod and Banger racing since 2003. We promote top flight race meetings at both Tullyroan Oval near Dungannon and Aghadowey Oval near Coleraine. From the high speed, high octane National Hot Rods, to the thrill a minute wreck 'em racing of the National Bangers, DMC Race Promotions have something for everyone, from the serious motorsport enthusiast to the family looking for a day out with a difference.

Coming Fixtures
Tullyroan Oval
24/11/2019 @ 2pm

u1800 Back To Basics Bangers 2019 Tullyroan Challenge Cup
Ninja Karts 2019 Champion of Champions & Individual Achievement Award
Lightning Rods 2019 Tullyroan Challenge Cup
1300 Stock Cars Ryan Wright Signs Iron Man Series Grand Final

Junior Productions

Aghadowey Oval
26/12/2019 @ 2pm

Caravan Destruction Derby
u1800 Back To Basics Bangers Festive Challenge
Ninja Karts 2019 Stars of Tomorrow Challenge

Stock Rods
Thunder Rods

Tullyroan Oval
29/12/2019 @ 2pm

Big Van Bangers Van-dalism 2019
Rookie Bangers Festive Challenge

Lightning Rods
Junior Productions



Confident Cardwell Lands Irish Open Crown
Glenavy’s Jonny Cardwell took a hard earned victory in the Stock Rods Irish Open Championship at Tullyroan Oval on Saturday night, heading home a huge international field of cars to claim the championship crown. The racing was fast and furious all evening across all the divisions at the Hollytree Rare Breeds Farm sponsored event, with the other feature race wins falling to Nutts Corner’s Michael Woods in the 2.0 Hot Rods, World Champion Lee Davison from Portadown in the Superstox and Lurgan’s Graham Meek in the Junior Productions. The Micro Bangers were the other formula in action, with Garvagh’s Stephen Boyd claiming the Spring Classic trophy.

Four heats were required for qualifying for the Stock Rods Irish Open Championship, with drivers in attendance from all over the British Isles. The first encounter fell to defending champion Stevie McNiece from Enniskillen ahead of Victor McAfee, with Antrim’s Stephen McCready leading the pack home for a fine win in heat two over Limerick’s Colm O’Sullivan. Heat three saw Ballymena’s Micky McFall take the win over Jonny Cardwell, whilst the final heat saw a win for Tipperary’s Alan McCormack ahead of England’s Maison Waugh. The B Final for non qualifiers saw National Champion Curtis Greer grab a spot at the rear of the main event with a clear victory.

On points Cardwell had annexed pole position over McAfee for the coveted Irish Open final, and Jonny quickly assumed the lead with the pack squabbling right on his rear end. McCready made a brave attempt on the outside but couldn’t make it stick, before Derek McMillan was the next to challenge as Cardwell held on resolutely out front. Derek got right alongside but again couldn’t make it count, as Cardwell completed his fine defensive drive to take the flag and the championship title. McCready crossed the line second but was docked two places for contact on Glenn Bell, elevating McFall and McNiece to the podium places after an enthralling race.

A superb field of 21 2.0 Hot Rods included visitors Dave Leech from England and David Murray from Tipperary, plus a return to action for former World Champion Wayne Woolsey. Dean McFarland set the early heat one pace, before losing out to veteran racer Davy Potter who took the win over Michael Woods and Conor Hughes. Heat two saw Woods in command, leading home Allen Cherry and Thomas Dilly at the flag.

Woods managed to break clear of the battling pack early in the final to open up a huge lead, but in the closing stages his car seemed to go off with some engine issue or other. Cherry was closing him down hand over fist, but Michael just held on to take the victory and earn himself a rise to the blue grade for the next meeting. Cherry, Adam Best and Mervyn Emerson completed the places.

Welcome Scottish visitor Bryan Forrest joined the 17 car Superstox field, where Ed Davis raced to the heat one win ahead of Ally Neill and Conor Murphy. Heat two again saw Davis in command, taking his second win of the evening over the impressive Forrest and Cyril Hawe.
Up an upgrade to yellow roof made little difference to Davis at the start of the final, Ed again hitting the front and pulling clear. But this time World Champion Lee Davison was on the move, reeling in the leader as the laps dwindled down. Davison was within touching distance as they took the one lap to go board, and when Davis got out of shape onto the back straight Lee nudged him into a spin to race through and collect a fantastic win. Murphy and Keith McAreavey filled out the podium slots.

They may have been down in numbers, but the Micro Bangers still produced some superb action all evening. The opener was for the Spring Classic trophy, with some spectacular hits going in especially on the Annaghmore Bend. Jonny Rutherford, Matthew McKinstry, Rodney Herron and Tony Gillespie were some of those involved, as Stephen Boyd charged through to take the victory over Leonard Dunn and Karl Smyth.

Another entertaining encounter in the Allcomers saw Dunn take the win over Aaron McGraw as the big hits kept flying in. The DD again saw some entertainment, but was unfortunately abandoned as the track curfew was reached with no end in sight. For the record, Boyd, Smyth and McGraw were the three remaining runners when the red flags were shown. Tony Gillespie deservedly took the trophies for both Best Wreck and Entertainer of the Day.

James Stewart was the star of the opening Junior Productions heat, taking the win over Sam Percy and Sam McNeice. Stewart again showed well in heat two, before getting into a battle with Graham Meek which saw both feel the wrath of the Stewards in Race Control. Meek took the flag but was docked for contact, handing the win to Mark Crawford over Adam McFall.
The star men took control of the final early on, with Meek and McFall racing to the front in close proximity. The duo battled hard all the way home, with Meek even surviving a mid race caution to hold on for the victory after a fine drive. McFall, McNeice and Stewart completed the places.
Pics by John Wolsey

Many thanks to our meeting sponsors, Hollytree Rare Breeds Farm

Added: 23/04/19

Share on FacebookTweet This

  Site Map
- Latest | Fixtures | Results | Gallery | For Sale | Links | Our Partners
- About Us - How to Find Us | Places to Stay | Contact Us
- Drivers - Formulae & Rules - National Hot Rods | 2.0 Hot Rods | Lightning Rods | Junior Productions | ProStocks | National Bangers | Superstox
1300 Stock Cars | Thunder Rods | Ninja Karts | Stock Rods | Classic Hot Rods | Rookie Bangers| Back2Basics Bangers
- Drivers - Flags & Signals | Lap Records
- Drivers - Points & Grades - National Hot Rods | 2.0 Hot Rods | Lightning Rods | Junior Productions | ProStocks | National Bangers | Superstox
Ninja Karts | Stock Rods
- Drivers - Roll of Honour - National Hot Rods | 2.0 Hot Rods | Lightning Rods | Junior Productions | ProStocks | National Bangers | Reliant Robins | Superstox
| Ninja Karts | Stock Rods