background image
Like Us On FacebookFollow Us On TwitterSubscribe to Our FeedSubscribe to Our Mailing List
TullyroanOval AghadoweyOval


Welcome To
We are Northern Ireland's premier Short Oval Motor Racing promotion, bringing you the very best in Stock Car, Hot Rod and Banger racing since 2003. We promote top flight race meetings at both Tullyroan Oval near Dungannon and Aghadowey Oval near Coleraine. From the high speed, high octane National Hot Rods, to the thrill a minute wreck 'em racing of the National Bangers, DMC Race Promotions have something for everyone, from the serious motorsport enthusiast to the family looking for a day out with a difference.

Coming Fixtures
Aghadowey Oval
23/2/2019 @ 5pm

u1800 Back To Basics Bangers Winter Challenge

2.0 Hot Rods
Lightning Rods
Stock Rods
Thunder Rods

Aghadowey Oval
16/3/2019 @ 1pm-6pm

Practice Day 1
All formulas welcome

Tullyroan Oval
23/3/2019 @ 1pm - 6pm

Practice Day 2
All formulas welcome



Rochford On Song Once Again At Aghadowey
Packed grids across the five classes on show at Aghadowey Oval on Saturday night produced some fantastic racing that entertained the race fans on a fine late spring evening. European Lightning Rod Champion Jordan Rochford from Portadown continued his great run of form with victory in the opening round of the 2ke Engineering Challenge Series, whilst fellow Portadown racer Robbie Wright took the first round spoils in the 1300 Stock cars Ryan Wright Signs Iron Man Series to continue his fantastic run in his new formula. Other feature race winners at the Hollytree Rare Breeds Farm sponsored event were Magheralin's Stuart Agnew in the Stock Rods, Portadown star Adam Hylands in the 2.0 Hot Rods and Coleraine's Ryan Campbell in the Thunder Rods.

The Lightning Rods continued their great start to 2018 with an entry that once again reached the 20 car barrier. Novice graded Ronan McNally led the opening heat away but Jonny McMillan quickly surged ahead from the yellow grade. Jonny led all the way home to take the first win of the night over Mark McCambridge and James Litter. McNally again led heat two on a packed raceway, before a late caution allowed Tim Hazlett through to land the win over Ricky Shaw and Mark Corry.
Aggregate points from the heats formed the grid for the final with Hazlett assuming the early lead from pole position ahead of Rochford. An intriguing battle developed between the duo as the race progressed, with Jonny McMillan getting himself involved for a time too. Rochford time and again drew alongside Hazlett but just couldn't make it stick, but disaster then struck for Tim as he got outfumbled amongst the heavy backmarking traffic. That allowed Rochford to race clear for another win and with it a generous voucher courtesy of the series sponsors. Shaw and former World Champion Scott Cochrane filled the places at the end of another breathtaking night for the Lightning Rods.

Also in mini series action were the 1300 Stock Cars, making their first DMC appearance of the season for the opening round of the Ryan Wright Signs Iron Man Series. Gary Elliott and Jamie McCann contested the lead in the opener before new season sensation Robbie Wright powered through to take the win over Elliott and Josh McKinstry. Heat two saw a very ragged rolling start, and unfortunately for Wright it meant a two place demotion in the final analysis after he had again taken the chequered flag. That handed the win to Elliott ahead of McCann.
If the heats had been entertaining, the final was nothing short of explosive! McCann led early on before losing out to Wright, with Ulster Champion Nicky Lowry charging into second from the red grade. Newcomer Daryl McAleese got into all sorts of bother on the Brown Trout Bend bringing out a yellow flag, and with the field all closed up things really did kick off! There was another yellow for Elliott a lap later, before Lowry pounced to nudge the leader wide. Wright underlined how he is going to be a major player in the formula in 2018 as he came right back at his more experienced counterpart, landing a telling blow that took him back ahead and home to the chequers where he received a new race tyre courtesy of Ryan Wright Signs. Wright also smashed the lap record for the formula as Lowry took the runner up slot, with a huge battle for third falling to Peter Greer ahead of Willie Stewart after some huge hits late on.

23 Stock Rods took to the grid over the evening with two more unfortunately sidelined after practice, with amongst those on track there were class debuts for Dan Shannon, Paul Hosie and Philip Wilson alongside returns from Chris Hamill and Ben McCully. Sam Wilson was the leader for the opening half of heat one on a very busy raceway, before Curtis Greer rounded out a great drive from the blue grade by taking the win over Jonny Gillespie and McCully. Gillespie stamped his authority all over the second heat as he took the win ahead of McCully and Greer, after another race which saw battles right down the field.
The final turned out to be a cracker, with impressive novice Wilson again leading early on before Stuart Agnew found a way past. Stuart was under severe pressure as the laps ticked down, with Gillespie, Sam Wilson, Greer and McCully tight on his back panel. Even a late race caution period didn't unnerve Agnew and he took a morale boosting win ahead of Greer, Gillespie and Jonny Cardwell after another superb night of racing from the Stock Rods.

Amongst a pleasing field of 2.0 Hot Rods was Stuart Cochrane at the wheel of the former Wayne Woolsey championship winning Saxo, and he quickly showed some electric pace in his new mount. He had to make do with second in the opener as he just couldn't find a way past long time leader Aaron Beattie. Beattie again took the honours in heat two, this time holding off Adam Hylands and Stephen Emerson at the flag.
With Beattie upgraded after his two wins, it was local ace Thomas Morrison who set the pace in the feature race, but Hylands was soon on the chase with Cochrane in tow. An early skirmish had eliminated a number of cars, but Hylands powered past Morrison on the restart to take a fine win indeed, with Cochrane keeping him honest all the way home in second ahead of Adam Best and Emerson.

The Thunder Rods completed the line up with three very competitive races, with a debut for former National Hot Rod star Davy Gurney and an outing for Superstox favourite Sean Mark. Ryan Campbell hit the front in heat one before losing out to James Goldie, but the man to watch was Lee McCloy who swept past for the win ahead of Campbell and Andrew McLean. There was another close battle for the places in heat two, which fell the way of Goldie ahead of a great scrap which saw Jason Darragh get second over McCloy.
Aaron Darragh was the first to show in the final but Campbell quickly surged through to the lead. As Goldie and McCloy squabbled over second, Ryan pulled clear to land his second final win in succession with Goldie and McCloy filling the podium positions.

Many thanks to our meeting sponsors, Hollytree Rare Breeds Farm

Added: 29/04/18

Share on FacebookTweet This

  Site Map
- Latest | Fixtures | Results | Gallery | For Sale | Links | Our Partners
- About Us - How to Find Us | Places to Stay | Contact Us
- Drivers - Formulae & Rules - National Hot Rods | 2.0 Hot Rods | Lightning Rods | Junior Productions | ProStocks | National Bangers | Superstox
1300 Stock Cars | Thunder Rods | Ninja Karts | Stock Rods | Classic Hot Rods | Rookie Bangers| Back2Basics Bangers
- Drivers - Flags & Signals | Lap Records
- Drivers - Points & Grades - National Hot Rods | 2.0 Hot Rods | Lightning Rods | Junior Productions | ProStocks | National Bangers | Superstox
Ninja Karts | Stock Rods
- Drivers - Roll of Honour - National Hot Rods | 2.0 Hot Rods | Lightning Rods | Junior Productions | ProStocks | National Bangers | Reliant Robins | Superstox
| Ninja Karts | Stock Rods